Welcome to our planet. Here you'll find an organized view of all Black Scat Books in print. Hover your mouse over the "Our Books" button and browse titles via sections.













"Explosions of laughter are better than dynamite."

—Alphonse Allais

Here is the first publication in English of the master humorist’s collection, Vive la vie! —  stories culled from the pages of Le Chat Noir, packed with madcap (and bawdy) tales of love, adultery, the supernatural, military life, and fake news. These texts are quintessentially Allaisian, spiked with absurd digressions, parenthetical asides, footnotes, puns,  jokes, military jargon, Parisian slang, neologisms, dog Latin, literary quotations, and other unmentionable forms of wordplay.


This year give them a blast!


Copyright ©  2017 by Black Scat Books
All Rights Reserved